Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

[Answered] Stuck in Service Mode / Missing Install Package Option?

Sponsored Links
    Hi. Sorry, but a big newbie here. I've just got a P3Go and run into an issue. I would like to simplify my explanation, but I think explaining how this started would make more sense:

When I first got the P3go I figure I needed to update the firmware and thought just putting in the "upgrade.bin" file in the root of the P3go was sufficient and went ahead with the steps to detect and play the game on an external HDD. The game I had on the external was Modnation Racers and worked fine, but booted extremely slow and had long load times.

Apparently these issues were addressed (maybe partially) by an official update, so I tried to do research on how I can get this updated. I download the "retail update" *pkg file, but tried to figure out how to load this to the PS3. The first thing I could find was directions on getting a "debug update" and using a modified EBOOT.BIN file, but this game doesn't have a debug package available. I eventually found a comment about psgroove and hex is a better way (the post was also 2 months newer).

Now I have yet to figure out what hexes actually do, but the directions I found for the P3go is to grab a supported hex and place this in the root directory (rename as psgroove.hex). Around this time I also found out my directions to update my device's firmware was incorrect and loaded the "update.bin" file in a microsd card instead (I used an update.bin file I found on release 20101208 from the P3go official site). I suppose the firmware did actually update as my dongle's "hardware" name changed and the microsd's copy of the bin file disappeared as directed.