Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

[UnAnswered] Some PS3 Slim questions from a newbie

Sponsored Links
    Hi, I've been around the PSP and WII scene for a while, but I am a newbie in PS3 scene. I just got a PS3slim last week (due to the price obviously, but with the sacrifice of "other OS" feature ).

After researching online to see what I can play around with the PS3 (my interest are mainly hacks, homebrew, tricks, etc.), I am disappointed to see there aren't much (especially for slim).

I do have couple of questions though. I tried to find them online, but not a lot of people are talking about them. (in fact, I think more people are interested in the games themselves than playing with the PS3's "other" aspects.) Anyway, here are my questions:
    1. My PS3 slim comes with FW2.76 by default. What is the best firmware to stay on? Or we have no choice but to upgrade to the latest? Because I heard people having tons of problem with each updates. It is the same with PSP, except we are "recommended" to stay in a best firmware until the later one is "customized". Same with WII. I am just wondering whether it's the same with PS3. Is 3.01 good enough to go for?

2. About audio of PS3: Just curious, can 7.1 audio (DolbyTrueHD or DTSMasterAudio) go thru optical out? Or it can only go thru HDMI? I only have a 5.1 system, so I have no way to verify, but I see the display of info being different if I play AVCHD that have 7.1 (even thru my optical). It says "multi-channel" instead of "5.1"

3. I heard that 7.1 doesn't play in "file mode" of PS3. Only plays in "bluray/disc/avchd mode". Why is that? Is it still the case as of 3.01 fw?

4. What's the different between LPCM and bitstream? I read some info online saying something about seeing the TrueHD or DTS-HD text in their receiver, but I still don't get it. Are they the same? Is LPCM analog output? Is LPCM the inferior one? Any quality lost with LPCM?