Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Cool [Answered] PS3 RSOD Questions help?

Sponsored Links
    So I am absolutely certain that the answer I am seeking lies somewhere in this labyrinth of forums, but I have searched and cant quite get the specific info I need. I have a Phat PS3, 80GB with a RSOD.

I left the US for about 2 years, only to return to this demise as the system had not been used during that time. I downloaded the 355-NOTHEROS-RSOD.PUP, through the recovery menu under software update. I put it on a USB as this: PS3/UPDATE/355-NOTHEROS-RSOD.PUP.

I entered recovery mode, clicked on PS3 UPDATE, and the PS3 tried to find the software but it is asking for software of 4.60 or higher. I thought maybe renaming the file to PS3UPDATE.PUP or whatever Sony would call it, would help, but it just said Corrupted Data with what I believe is an error code.

Please offer me some guidance! I am a noob at the forum, but I am technically savvy enough to figure this out, just need the right information and guidance. Thanks!
    Best Answer - Posted by metzen:

You could very possibly have it spoofed. Why not try the 999 downgrader and let us know what results you get. Here is a link:

http://www.ps3news.com/ps3-cfw-mfw/r...owngrader-out/

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    your ps3 is probably on 4.60 ofw, then go download ofw 4.60 then use that pup file to install on your ps3 then it should be fixed!

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    I tried installing the latest ofw from the Sony website. My PS went through the motions, but still loaded up RSOD. Any other potential fixes?

You will need a hardware flasher to fix it or send it to Sony

What was the firmware on your ps3 before it rosd on you? It sounds like a mismatched syscon.

You could very possibly have it spoofed. Why not try the 999 downgrader and let us know what results you get. Here is a link:

Quote Originally Posted by ripplar View Post