Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

[Answered] PS3 randomly RSOD'd help?

Sponsored Links
    Turned it own today and got a RSOD. Tried reinstalling Rebug 3.55.2, no luck, I managed to reinstall the CFW but still got RSOD. The last thing I did on my PS3 was put Portal 2 in it using FTP, 2 days ago. The game worked fine with the eboot fix, I played it for a few hours.

Any idea of what happened or how to fix it?

Its a PS3 Slim and I've been using it for 2 years.
    Last edited by BluRay; 10-11-2012 at 10:36 PM Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    Best Answer - Posted by pandulce1:

If the HDD swap doesn't work for you, try searching for FactoryServiceMode_Lv2diag_RSOD.rar. You should find the archive (or file) and instructions on how to use it. This is said to be the best and safest way to fix a RSOD PS3 (as far as I know), but it didn't work for me. I ended up using 355-NOTHEROS-RSOD.PUP and rsodfix.gnpdrm.pkg, which I read should not be used because there is a high chance of perma-bricking your console. Read up on that and if you do decide to try it, do it as a last resort.

This is what I did.

1. Installed 355-NOTHEROS-RSOD.PUP from the RECOVERY MENU.
    2. Installed rsodfix.gnpdrm.pkg from XMB.
    3. Ran rsodfix. (the instructions say to reboot the PS3 after this but I didn't)
    4. Installed Rogero CFW from XMB.

I didn't think it would work, but it did. The RSOD reappeared two weeks later so I had to repeat the process, but it hasn't happened since.

You should be able to toggle FSM with an E3 Card Reader. I bought one just for that same reason, although I have a phat PS3 so I don't know if there are any compatibility issues with the slim.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    try replace it with a working hard drive, see if it works.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links