Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

[Answered] PS3 Linux only solution help?

Sponsored Links
    Hi All,

Yes I'm new to this, yes I may well ask some stupid questions. Sorry!

I need to install Linux on some PS3 fats; I don't mind if I lose access to GameOS as these machines will be used as part of an educational project only; I don't even care if the BD drives don't work - all I need is the ability to run Linux with USB and Ethernet operating correctly. There seem to be loads of different options but I'm struggling to find a clear cut solution; could somebody please give me some pointers?

Thanks; it looks like you've got a really good community going on here and I look forward to being a part of it.

mrlepus

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    First of all. What firmware do you have?

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    Second, why the hell use a ps3 for a linux only purpose? Educational? An old cheap pc is way better for educational purposes

Hi,

Thanks for the responses. Firmware unknown currently, as the machines are still in transit.

As for Bartholomy's reasonable question: it's the Cell architecture that's important; Linux just facilitates the wider goal.

All the best,

mrlepus

The offical Linux release for PS3 is Yellow Dog linux - this can be installed on the OtherOS option only on FATS with FW 3.15 or below (if your ps3s have been used by gamers it is very unlikely that they will still be on 3.15 or below).

So if not you need to check out the hacker versions of Linux - you will find info on this board - one was certainly called AsbestOS (spelling). To install these you will need a custom firmware - so you will need orignal firmware 3.55 or lower on the PS3.