Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Exclamation [Answered] PS3 Error 80010514 Issues with PSN servers?

Sponsored Links
    Hi all,

I appreciate I'm a newbie on the site, well to the scene actually , but I've owned a PS3 for a little over 2 years now. All has been well until I decided to treat myself to a new game.

For the last 8 months or more the PS3 has been neglected and only used on occasions as an expensive DVD player. It's mainly been due to a lack of spare time. Anyway, I went and bought a copy of Tekken 6 from Game. It came without the retail box but was new with the manual. Bargain I thought at 7 versus 25 - okay it was without the retail sleeve but surely thats refleceted in the price!

I inserted the disc and found that although the XMB recognised Tekken 6 was inserted and displayed the Tekken 6 game graphics in the background, the game wouldn't execute. The screen flickers quickly (as per usual) but returns to the XMB stating an error occured; 'Error 80010514. An error occured during the start up operation'. I scratched my head and then started googling...

At this point I become aware many consider this the RROD for the PS3 but at the same time it must be noted this seems to be a catch all error when the console fails to execute a game. This would be irrespective of whether it's due to a failed BluRay lens, corrupt hdd or other problem. Clearly the console has an inability to diagnose. So I begin diagnosing as best I can...

Regrettably I recetly traded in all my games except COD4 but I did keep all my BluRays. All movies work fine including dvd's with COD4 working flawlessly. I don't have access to another PS3 console so can't stricty say it's not the disc. But I did notice a few things.