Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

[UnAnswered] PS3 Downgrading and CFW questions help?

Sponsored Links
    Hello I am new to playstation community and would like some help regarding the cfw of ps3. Recently I bought a used ps3 that has ofw 2.76 and I am thinking of buying the fantastic game Nba 2k13 which I want to play online (I know ofw is needed!) Though I am thinking about a cfw that will enable me to play many games. I have a few questions and I hope all fellow ps3 users.

I tried to read most of the posts, they are a lot, but I got a pretty good picture, still though have some questions.

I am buying a recent game like Nba 2k13, I suppose through the installation of the game, a more recent ofw will be installed. So through some of the steps described here and files available on the net I will try to downgrade it.

1) What are the risks of a faillure of installing the downgraded cfw? For example 3.55 cfw that most people say works great.
    2) Is there a way to ensure that if a downgraded installation fails I can reset the machine to its previous state? Can I copy some files from the ps3? Can I just Update its firmware?
    3) How can I know in advance if my machine, ps3 fat 60gb, is able to take the downgrade process from an early ofw to the 3.55 cfw?
    4) The horrific “brick” state that many people describe, how possible is it to happen to an old fat ps3? Can it be unbricked with just a usb or another software process, or the device must be physically opened by an expert?

Thank you in advance.

Sorry for my long post, but many questions from a newbie

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    Since your ps3 is on ofw 2.76 then all that you have to do is update to ofw 3.55. and then install a cfw of your choice. I would say that rogero 4.30 v 2.05 is a good one for someone that is just starting out.