Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Sponsored Links

[UnAnswered] Power Disk drive independently help?

Sponsored Links
    Hi,

I would like to power up the disk drive of a PS3 independently. I have a broken unit, power is coming into the unit and to the 'power conditioning box'?? (or whatever that is)

I would like to bypass the motherboard and go straight from here to the blu-ray disk drive.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Le meas
    Sean.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    For what purpose? I'm sure that the drive has a proprietary connector that would require you to solder in your own power leads. However, short of getting it to spin what do you hope to do? The controller boards are paired to the PS3 so it's not like you'll be able to get video or anything from it.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    I'm a mechatronics student and for my final year project I am converting the disk drive into a surface measurement device. as the laser focuses it moves up and down, I can take the movement of the laser as a profile of the micro peaks and valleys on a surface by tapping into the analog signal of the VCM (Voice coil motor) or the FES (Focus error signal) of the laser. I hope

If i were to remove the connector from the power going into the motherboard(4 pins from what i remember) and replace it with the connector that goes into the disk drive(5 pins from what i can remember) will I be able to power up the unit?

If so which pin would be inactive. Thank you for your reply.

Le meas
    Sean

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    Not too sure on that, but what i would do is use your volt meter to check for the 12v, 5v, and 3.3 v leads, as I think it would be safe to assume that it uses the same voltages that a PC drive would. You can probably then solder on your own molex/sata style power connector and use a pc power supply to run it.