Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17



  1. #11
    VIP Member windrider42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,097
    Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    Like said above, but some PS3 don't need the Firmware on a USB again to reinstall, and some consoles you need to have the Firmware waiting on USB to reinstall. This is because of whether it be a Nand or NOR PS3, because some consoles store information in the Flash, not the hdd.

  2. #12
    Contributor jacobjacob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    oh, I did not understand this part) I understand that FW (4.50) can't be kept on the hard drive as it'll be deleted during the formatting.. does that mean it's kept in another place we don't have access to? is it some kind of flash memory or smth (as I understood)?

    I mean is it possible to find out whether your ps3 is nand or nor (letters nand and nor mean absolutely nothing to me, huh)?

    anyway, I think whether it nand or nor, it' better to restore ps3 system)

    oh, and also, does full formatting make the same effect as rebuilding the database? I mean, do I still need to rebuild the db after formatting is complete? thanks

    update: found this table about the consoles' types. mine is cech 3008b so it's NOR type.. what's that mean, I can't get it.
    Last edited by jacobjacob; 10-21-2013 at 12:18 PM Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  3. #13
    Forum Moderator misiozol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    683
    Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    Means nothing from your point of view , just do what you need format/restore and you'll be fine just carry on. Those things mean something only if you have ps3 on CFW and swapping hdd.
    Last edited by misiozol; 10-21-2013 at 03:27 PM

  4. #14
    Contributor jacobjacob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    huh, you know that does mean nothing for my decision, just trying to expand my background and satisfy my curiosity)

    forget everything said above, just one question: does the format utility save (preserve) the settings or they're restored and the system becomes "like the new one"?

    thanks for the help

  5. #15
    VIP Member windrider42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,097
    Like I said in Post #6. The PS3 will be like new. All settings etc deleted. It will be like when you bought it.

  6. #16
    Contributor jacobjacob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    oh, I thought you said that about "restore ps3 system"

    thank you guys, I really appreciate your help

  7. #17
    Forum Moderator misiozol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    683
    Happy to help

 
Sponsored Links

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Advertising - Affiliates - Contact Us - PS3 Downloads - PS3 Forums - Privacy Statement - Site Rules - Top - © 2015 PlayStation 3 News