Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Question [Answered] Converting External HD from FAT32 to NTFS help?

Sponsored Links
    Hello. I have a verbatim 1TB external harddrive that I've been using now for a few months and by default it was setup as FAT32, which seems ridiculous to me seeing as it's capable of such large file storage. The problem is my external hdd now having all ps3 games and I worry after convert the FAT32 to NTFS will all the games gone or can it be play ?

Anyways, I'm trying to move a 25gig file onto it, and I'm getting a "not enough disc space" error. I've read up that the best way to fix this issue is to convert the drive to NTFS. But I've already got a crap ton of files on the drive, and not enough room on my PC hard drive to back the files up while I convert it.

The problem is, I don't know if it'll delete my files or not. Some websites are saying the process DOESNT delete your existing files, and some are saying it does, so I've come here for a definite answer before I do anything. If anyone could help me find the most efficient way to change this over to NTFS without losing my files, it would be greatly appreciated. I hope this is an issue that there will be some answers for. Seems like a simple enough question.
    Best Answer - Posted by PSPSwampy:

1. Consider carefully your reason for wanting to do this...

- If you are expecting to be able to plug the NTFS drive into your PS3 and play large games/videos there is no point, the PS3 doesnt support the NTFS filesystem and you won't be able to acces any of your files. (*unless some dev has written a nice NTFS filesytem driver i've not seen yet!)

- If you simply need a drive for your PC to store large files on, then you shouldn't have any worries doing this.