Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Video: PlayStation Move Demo Disc Exploit via PS3 JailBreak

Sponsored Links
    Today HKKory has shared a video of what he calls a PlayStation Move demo disc exploit via PS3 JailBreak, however, as PSGroove points out the console is already JailBroken so this isn't really an exploit and won't likely lead to anything.

To quote: "The PS3 homebrew news has seemed to slow down, a lot. So I thought I would start making some news. I noticed the demo disc that came with my move, runs off the XMB, and installs demos.

I pondered if the same method could be used for homebrew, or whatever. I backed it up with my manager, and looked in the files. I realized the installs were DATA000.PKG so I renamed a emulator to that, copied it over to move folder, and installed it.

Now I'm not a coder, so I would like to turn this news over to anyone that could make some use of it to further our efforts. But please, remember to credit me, if you work further upon this discovery.

Here are the details:

- Back up Move Demo Disc (10GB)
    - Select Install Disc
    - Make sure a Disc is in the Drive
    - Open Your File Manager
    - Open Dev0HD
    - Go to folder with rips
    - Navigate to BCUS-98263
    - PS3_EXTRA
    - D001 - D012 have the pkg files.
    - Rename desired .pkg to DATA000.PKG (USE CAPITALS ON THE .PKG)
    - Paste back into D001
    - Go to XMB, Select the disc, Select the second tab (Or the one you change)
    - Install, and launch.

I also managed to get my PlayStation to ask me to install firmware on my HDD, the screen you get when you put in a new HDD. Just put a blank .pkg file and try to install it.

If you do not have the move disc, I can supply the files to make your own. Minimal size, not the 10GB. This could be something, or nothing at all. But a new way to install your pkgs at least."

Video: PlayStation Move Demo Disc Exploit via PS3 JailBreak

More PlayStation 3 News...