Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

TOC Refresh: Swap Magic 3.6 vs. DVDLoader

Sponsored Links
    I bought The Rumble Fish (Japan) and tried to boot it with Swap Magic with no luck. Turns out the game needs a bigger TOC to run.

I have Swap Magic 3.6 and I used DMC as the original TOC and swapped in the other game. I ended up getting a RSOD. I read up here on the forums about DVDLoader and tried it. I booted Swap Magic -> DVDLoader -> Refreshed the TOC with DMC -> Swapped with Rumble Fish and it worked.

Why is it that I can boot Rumble Fish with DVDLoader rather than Swap Magic? As far as I know I'm doing everything the right way. Is there something that DVDLoader does that Swap Magic doesn't? The process is a bit tedious but then again, I didn't want to spend the extra dough on a Jap machine.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    I am not a expert on SM any more (upgraded to a chip), but I thought it was something to do with the memory address the SM used and the game did too, so they would conflict. The loaders would assign a different one thus allowing a game to load with out conflict. check [Register or Login to view links] and you can see just how many games have issues but are easily fixed with a loader. Swaping can be tedious yes, but its cheaper than a chip and easier to install.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    Yea, I know what you mean about the $$. Its odd that it requires you to do that, and northernpimps explaintion does make sense. Just out of curiousity, the games text is still in japanese is it not?? Because I wanted to get a jap copy of FF7 but didnt know if it would translate the text or not.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    of course... alot of text is still in Japanese. Most of the games I do tend to import have to have a generous amount of game, rather than a whole lot of reading however i've lucked out recently with alot of menus coming in English. It's gotta be enough gameplay for $65.