Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponsored Links

problems mounting ps3 volume

Sponsored Links
    Hey guys, sorry- this is a noob question, but i'm still a linux noob, so hopefully you guys can help. This may be a very simple and stupid question, but here goes.

Running Yellow Dog 5. PS3 with the latest updates.

I can mount an external usb hard drive fine. Also, I can mount a data cd fine. however, when there is a ps3 game that I insert into the drive, and in the file browser, it comes up with an error box stating error Cannot mount Volume. Unable to mount the volume 'PS3VOLUME'.

any ideas? I tried going thru the gnome terminal and typing in "mount /dev/cdrom" but it returns "can't find /dev/scd0 in e/etc/fstab or /etc/mtab" , and if i type in cd /dev/cdrom it returns "not a directory".

Did they patch this up in the latest update? (never tried before this update) or am not understanding or missing something and doing it all wrong? thanks!

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    It can not mount PS3VOLUME (which is the Blu-Ray drive) as Blu-Ray disks use UDF2.5!

You can either recompile the kernel with UDF 2.5 support, OR, try this

type -> su (hit enter)
    (it may ask you for your root password)
    type -> mount -tiso9660 /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom (hit enter)
    (where /dev/cdrom is the CDROM, and /mnt/cdrom exists as a folder to be mounted to)

Then you should be able to explore it (somewhat) by navigating to /mnt/cdrom

It works on SOME PS3 Games and movies (due to an ISO/UDF bridge!)

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    thanks for your help. that ud/isobridge did work, however i would like to recompile the kernel with the udf 2.5 support. Being EXTREMELY new to linux (about 5 days experience, TOTAL!) im not sure that it is the best thing to do right now, but i am very competent with other o/s', just none with linux, and would like to change that.
    are these the correct files to use to recompile it with udf 2.5 support?