Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Which Linux Version is the best?

Sponsored Links
    I just got my new Ps3 and was wondering which is the best version of Linux to put on it. I know there are several out there. I appreciate any feedback you can provide.

Thanks,

Dizack

Sponsored Links

From a newbie's perspective....

Sponsored Links
    I am fairly new to Linux so I tried the first thing available which was Fedora Core. Installation went smooth except the screen resolution was really low. I just got a small box screen on my 32" HDTV and I couldn't find a way to configure it to show full screen. The GUI settings wouldn't allow me to do it. I tried searching for a way to change some config file(s), but no luck. Maybe more experienced users would know how to do this....

So I moved on to Yellow Dog. It was tailored specifically for the PS3 and it shows because I didn't have the above problem. I also liked the interface more as well.

I heard Gentoo was the best.....if you're an experienced user. But for me, I'll stick to YDL til I learn more about the OS.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    Quote Originally Posted by dizack869 View Post
    I just got my new Ps3 and was wondering which is the best version of Linux to put on it. I know there are several out there. I appreciate any feedback you can provide.

Thanks,

Dizack
    Yellowdog is the best at the moment. It is free and support my 40' lcd.

i think the gentoo is the one you need.

i think the gentoo is the best.

I havent read anything about someone trying Fedora Core6. I think I will try that next. I wasnt happy with Yellow Dog.

Numero, what were your probs with YDL?