Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to xbox 360

Sponsored Links

New to xbox 360

Sponsored Links
    I am new to xbox 360 and I was wondering about flashing it and I had a few questions about it.

How do I do it, and what does it do? What is a jtag?

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    Flashing is the process of rewriting the firmware. The most common is DVD spoofing, in which you trick the DVD player inside the 360 into thinking that whatever game is inserted is a verified original. This allows you to play "backups," or in other words, download 360 games and play them without purchasing the actual copy. I will insert the PIRACY clause here so that all the self righteous nut jobs can go ape shit flaming me here.

J-Tagging can only be done on kernels that are prior to .8955 (I believe). In other words, if you've recently been on XBOX Live, anytime since summer 2009, really, then forget it. Your Xbox is no longer J-taggable.

Anymore questions, feel free to ask. As far as I know, J-tag Xboxes still cannot be used on XBOX Live, as they get ban hammered quickly. The DVD flash still carries the risk of getting banned, but it is much lower than that of the former.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    Ok if I were to flash it how would I go about doing it? What can it then do besides playing downloaded games?

Is it just games on discs or games that can be downloaded on the store also?

What does the jtag do?

JTAG consoles in combination with modified dashboards like freeboot 0.32 with dashlaunch 1.0 update essentially allow the system to run homebrew from attached devices like the HDD or USB HDD. (usually the homebrew will tell where to install it via NFO or readme)

If you are lucky enough to have a JTAG able unit, one program that is a must is XeXMenu 1.1 for it's FTP feature so you won't have to keep removing the hard drive.