According to SPOnG.com (linked above), the forward-thinking ZiiP Gaming Community registered the domain ModernWarfare4.com and is now attempting to blackmail Infinity Ward by offering them the domain in exchange for copies of Modern Warfare 4 for all of their members.

To quote: The message looks like this:

"If you are reading this, you may well be the Web administrator for Infinity Ward.

"If you are, there is a chance that you may well require this domain. Don't worry, you can have it - in exchange for a little 'good will gesture' for the little gaming community that owns this domain and has been playing your games for years.

"What we'd like is a copy of the game that this domain would be used for, - one copy for each and every member of our gaming community.

"If you wish to discuss this further, drop me an email - welovecod@ziip.co.uk or goto www.ziip.co.uk and leave a message to Jester.

"Many Regards :)

"James"


Domain Squatter Blackmails Infinity Ward Over Modern Warfare 4

Posted 116 days ago      5 Comments      PermaLink


Comments

#1
By zeroryu on 17 weeks ago:
That's either a good tactic, or just plain evil. I choose evil!

I hope the deal is about service of online gaming support for all the registered ps3 users of that community. meaning, free dlc for every user. I think that's better in a long run and of course the game(if that's possible)

However, i prefer paying up the game if it's worthed. Don't want some curse fall upon me by their black mages hahaha

#2
By D3M0N2009 on 17 weeks ago:
This is a stupid plan by a bunch of idiots, first off the modern warfare 2 website is built on a subdomain: http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com, and the modern warfare 4 will most probably be the same.

Not to mention the fact that Modern Warfare 4 probably won't be released until 2013 that gives infinityward plenty of time to grab the domain back if they want.

#3
By rdreamernlcf on 17 weeks ago:
http://www.ModernWarefareIV.com/ is not taken. ;-)

But yeah, it seems that the most obvious route would be to make it at http://modernwarfare4.infinityward.com

#4
By semitope on 17 weeks ago:
hmmm.... i need to go squat some domains. It takes proper forward thinking to be successful as a squatter you know :)

#5
By dagnillo on 16 weeks ago:
That's not blackmail, it's extortion. Whether it works or not will remain to be seen :)



Post a Reply


Please Register or Login to Reply!